Cutting Ties With Confucius Institutes

According to Hanban, the governmental body under the Education Ministry of China that oversees all Confucius Institutes, there are 548 Confucius Institutes and 1,193 Confucius Classrooms in 147 countries (regions) by the end of 2018.

In February 2013, Canada’s McMaster University was the first university reported by media to close a Confucius Institute. As of May 2019, there have been at least 34 universities and 1 school board around the world that have cut ties with CIs, which resulted in 33 closures of the institutes.

Country Educational Institution Year of Ending CI Relationship
Canada McMaster University 2013
Université de Sherbrooke 2013
Toronto District School Board 2014
America University of Chicago 2014
Pennsylvania State University 2014
Pfeiffer University
Tulane University 2017
University of Illinois-Urbana Champaign 2017
University of West Florida 2018
Texas A&M University System 2018
Prairie View A&M University 2018
University of Iowa 2018
University of North Florida 2018
North Carolina State University 2018
University of Michigan 2018
University of Rhode Island 2018
University of South Florida 2018
University of Massachusetts Boston 2019
University of Minnesota 2019
Indiana University 2019
Western Kentucky University 2019
University of Oregon 2019
San Francisco State University 2019
The University of Hawai’i at Mānoa 2019
France University of Lumière Lyon 2 2013
University of Jean Moulin Lyon 3 2013
Toulouse 1 University Capitole 2017
West Paris Nanterre La Defense University 2018
Sweden Stockholm University 2014
Karlstad University 2015
Blekinge Institute of Technology 2015
Germany Stuttgart Media University 2015
University of Hohenheim 2015
Denmark Copenhagen Business School 2017
Netherlands Leiden University 2019