RÉSUMÉ

In the Name of Confucius est le premier film documentaire exposant les controverses mondiales croissantes entourant l’Institut Confucius (IC) du gouvernement chinois, un programme de langue chinoise rattaché à plus de 1600 universités et écoles étrangères à travers le monde.

Il met en vedette l’histoire personnelle exclusive d’une ancienne enseignante d’un IC, Sonia Zhao, ayant démissionné et dont la plainte a mené à la première fermeture d’un IC sur un campus nord-américain. Le film revient sur le tollé sans précédent qu’a suscité la plus grande instance éducative au Canada, le TDSB, à propos de son projet d’ouvrir le plus grand IC du monde. Le film examine les risques que ces Instituts Confucius pourraient poser à notre société – une perte d’intégrité académique, des violations des codes des droits de la personne, une ingérence étrangère et même des atteintes potentielles à la sécurité nationale. Une reconstitution assurée par Anastasia Lin, ancienne Miss Monde Canada.

In the Name of Confucius a remporté un certain nombre de prix internationaux et de nominations, en étant projeté avec succès dans 12 pays sur les 5 continents, y compris aux parlements du Royaume-Unie et d’Australie.

Gallery

Watch Online

Take Action

FEATURED VIDEOS

LEARN MORE

Subscribe to Newsletter

IN THE NAME OF CONFUCIUS SYNOPSIS

In the Name of Confucius is the first documentary film exposing the growing global controversies surrounding the Chinese government’s multi-billion dollar Confucius Institute (CI), a Chinese language program attaching to over 1,600 foreign universities and schools around the world.

Featuring the exclusive personal story of a former CI teacher, Sonia Zhao, whose defection and complaint let to the first closure of a CI on a North American campus, and the unprecedented outcry against Canada’s largest school board, the TDSB, over its plan to open the world’s largest CI, the film examines the risks that the Confucius Institutes could pose to our society—a loss of academic integrity, violations to human rights codes, foreign influence, and even potential infringements on national security. Re-enactments star former Miss World Canada Anastasia Lin.

In the Name of Confucius has won a number of international awards and nominations, and seen successful screenings in 12 countries across 5 continents as of August 2018, including screenings in the parliaments of the United Kingdom and Australia.

Gallery

Subscribe to Newsletter

Watch Online

Take Action

FEATURED VIDEOS

LEARN MORE